Chuck Wendig: Corgi Noir

This week’s Chuck Wendig flash fiction challenge is a Random Photo Exercise.  He posted a link to a Flickr photo randomizer and we had to pick one and use it as inspiration.  I had a good idea, I think, but I’m not sure it came out the way I wanted it to.  Gonna post it anyway, though.  Please to enjoy.


CORGI NOIR

https://www.flickr.com/photos/trustypics/33117598356/

Corgi Noir [9/52] [Film Noir]
from Trustypics

I sat in the black chair, nose drooping down onto my paws as I got more and more drowsy.  There had been more than water in my bowl.  It had been a long day and I was waiting for a dame to walk through the door and jump-start my life.  I was waiting for a dame named Lady Luck.

As it turns out she was late.  I had to sit for quite a while.  I refilled the bowl a couple of times and had a pretty good buzz going.  Okay, more than a buzz.  By the time the door opened, I was almost asleep.  The crash of the door slamming woke me.

My head came up and the hat fell off my head as I realized that she had arrived.  It wasn’t Lady Luck, but it was a lady.

Her coat was glossy and brown.  Her ears were perky and her brown eyes were pools of deepest night’s light.  Her legs went all the way down to her paws and the rhinestones on her collar caught the light and scattered it into bits.

“Hiya, dollface,” I said.  She sniffed, putting her nose up, and gave me a cold shoulder.  Me!  In my own office!

I hopped down off the chair and made my way over to the cabinet.  I nosed the door open and reached up, knocking down a box of Milk Bones.  They were Small size, not the Minis.  I’m no cheap Jake.  I know how to treat a lady.

She started sniffing around, picking out the red ones.  They were my favorites, but I didn’t say anything.  I pushed my bowl over to her and refilled it.  A lady needs to be able to wash down her snack.

“What can I do for you?” I asked.

She finished picking out the red Milk Bones and slurped down everything in the bowl.  She looked back at me and twitched her tail.  Her tongue lolled out and she grinned.  “You’ve done enough already,” she said.  She looked back down at the other treats.  “Those were good.”  She walked past me.  I felt her tail stroke its way down my side.

I turned around in time to see her disappear back out the door.  It swung shut behind her.  Was I supposed to follow?  I didn’t know.  It figures.  Of all the red Milk Bones in all the cabinets in all the world, she comes and eats mine.

I had no idea what to do next.  So I did the only thing I could.  I ate a couple of the tan Milk Bones that were left then got my hat back on my head and climbed back into the chair.  Before long I was getting drowsy and my nose began to drift downward again.

I was still waiting for a dame.  I was still waiting for Lady Luck.  I could wait a little longer.

2 thoughts on “Chuck Wendig: Corgi Noir

  1. Ahhhh that photo is forged from pure awesome! Great story. Very atmospheric. I read it in what I imagine is the stereotypical 1930s thick New York P.I. accent and I was not disappointed.

  2. Yep. I saw it am immediately thought of James Cagney or Humphrey Bogart. I had no choice but to try and hit as many of the old noir trope cliches that I could think of.

Leave a Reply

