The First Line: In Spite of Everything

Besides the Chuck Wendig prompts I do each week I also try to complete the prompt from The First Line each quarter.  The First Line is a journal that publishes four times a year and, each quarter, provides a prompt in the form of a sentence that is to be used as the first line in your story.  There are no restrictions on genre or form, but every story in each issue opens with the same first line.

I have been submitting to TFL for several years now and have never succeeded in being published.  This is my submission for the current issue, which was due on November 1.  They didn’t accept it, so I can publish it here for you to read.  The first line for the quarter was a line of dialogue, “I’m tired of trying to see the good in people.”

There were four prompts during the year and I decided to have some fun with them and set them all in the same town.  There are references to each story sprinkled through the last three.  Check them out and see if you can find them, and please to enjoy this one.  Please let me know what you think in the comments.


Continue reading